Breaking News

Google will now Automatically Delete Location and Search History by Default to Impart more Safety

Google will now Automatically Delete Location and Search History by Default to Impart more Safety
CEO of Alphabet and Google Sundar Pichai


Google is now ensuring more safety of its users’ data. CEO of Alphabet and Google Sundar Pichai has announced new privacy improvements to keep your information safe, including changes to its data retention practices across core products to keep less data by default.

On Wednesday, Google announced broad changes in its default data practices for new users, including a significant expansion in the company’s willingness to automatically delete data.

Google’s auto delete features apply to search history, location history and voice commands collected through the Google Assistant or devices like Google Home. Google logs that data in its My Activity page, where users can see what data points have been collected and manually delete specific items.

Starting from today, newly formed Google accounts will auto delete activity and location every 18 months by default. YouTube history will delete every 36 months.

“ As we design our products, we focus on three important principles: keeping your information safe, treating it responsibly, and putting you in control,” Sundar Pichai, CEO of Alphabets expressed through its blog post.

Existing accounts, though, will still need to proactively turn on the feature, as Google doesn’t want to force a change on users.

No comments